Stupid suspensions hitting home

This is a discussion on Stupid suspensions hitting home within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Another story about stupid suspensions. but for me this one is personal because it was a school i attended. a little background on our school, ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree78Likes

Thread: Stupid suspensions hitting home

Distinguished Member Array squid86's Avatar

Another story about stupid suspensions. but for me this one is personal because it was a school i attended. a little background on our school, it is located in the middle of rural farming area. closest big stores (walmart, movie theater, etc) is about 45 minutes away in every direction. the school is surrounded by farms. we had excused absences for opening day of gun season, and could keep our hunting rifles in our cars in the parking lot as long as we informed the school ahead of time. in my gym class we even shot bow and arrow. now i graduated about 10 years ago.

here is the story:

Fifth Grader Suspended for Aiming Imaginary Weapon in Class

Summary:

Basically aimed an imaginary bow and arrow at a friend, the friend responded by pointing a pencil like it was a pistol back at him. the principal suspended both boys for violating the school’s code of conduct, which bans weapons, including any “replica” or “look-alike.” The parents of the boy who did the imaginary bow and arrow are fighting back. the parents of the kid who pointed the pencil are not fighting it.

i feel these things are getting way out of control. i find it really weird that this happened in my old school who used to allow us to make wood guns in shop class, gun gases in home economics, bring it musket replicas for history class, and shoot bow and arrow in gym. heck, we even had gun replicas in our musicals and even real swords (until one of my buddies got his hand sliced open).
    84160 and gatorbait51 like this.
    USN Veteran