Defensive Carry banner

Making Cannons?

9K views 17 replies 7 participants last post by  Rock and Glock 
#1 ·
so here's one from left field...

I have a buddy who makes salute Cannons. He has made .750 and 1.00 bore. He has punched grapefruit sized holes thorugh brick walls with muzzle loading 1.00 Cannons.

My question is this: what can you legally get away with here? how big of a bore can you make?
Can you make breech loaders? do they have to be blackpowder or could you go smokeless?

i am not in a hurry to do so, but a 3" breech loading smooth bore cannon would make an interesting decoration for the front lawn...

Thoughts?

#2 ·
It is perfectly legal to build your own muzzle loading cannon, but a breach loader is illegal.

If I can find the law I will post it.

#4 ·
I am a welder and a few people have ask me to build cannon's . I have ask a retired Leo that is a gunsmith he says to stay far away from making one . I don't know if he is saying it because we live in Maryland or for federal laws .

I am too much of a chicken to make any .

#5 ·
Make the bore the diameter of a beer can. Empties don't go very far, but sand-filled cans do and make a big dust cloud when they land.

Don't ask.

#6 ·
Here is what I know .. Most back powder guns are not consider firerams so you can have a sbs if BP. Also if the guns is a black powedr cannon then yeah not a gun or DD .

However it would be best to stick with ball rounds. Expolding rounds are a no no unless you have belowe the fed amont of expolding stuff or you have a tax stamp for it ala 40 mm rounds.

Bear in mind somthing like a 90mm at gun while legal to own will need a tax stamp . My local dealer has a 75mm AT gun that fires shells but is type 3.

Again check the law states are different and I am not a lawyer

#11 ·
clarify please? i don't know what an AT gun is.

i also don't know what "sbs if BP" means, well i figure BP is black powder, but the sbs part...

...also "gun or DD" DD..?

#8 ·