Opinions on next purchase, please!

This is a discussion on Opinions on next purchase, please! within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm sorta/kinda new to firearms in that I only own one firearm, but I've been shooting for 10 years or so. I'm young and poor ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Opinions on next purchase, please!

Opinions on next purchase, please!

I'm sorta/kinda new to firearms in that I only own one firearm, but I've been shooting for 10 years or so. I'm young and poor and a student, so $500 or $600 is a very LARGE percentage of my income. As a result, I only have my one pistol. It's a Glock 30 SF, which I use for both concealed carry and home defense. I'm looking for advice on my next purchase.

Because there are several gun owners in my family, I have a lot of access to firearms (but I don't own any of them). I have tried concealing a Glock 21 (full size .45) and it disappears, no problems at all. I even tried tucking the new Glock 41 in my pants with my RCS Vanguard 2 and it sunk away to nothing. I prefer Gen 3 Glocks to Gen 4, so if I were to buy a full size Glock, it would probably be the 21. I like the .45, I have some ammo in it already, its mags work in my 30, etc., let's just stick with I prefer .45, so this isn't about that.

I also feel that I need a primary weapon system - a rifle, more specifically, which I would also like to purchase sometime in the future. So here's my dilemma: should I toss all my eggs in the Glock 30 basket and forget about buying the full size and just start saving for a rifle or should I buy the full size and carry that for a while and eventually have a nicely-sized companion for my rifle?