When to invest in a safe

When to invest in a safe

This is a discussion on When to invest in a safe within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; So, I'm relatively new to the firearms game. I've bought 2 pistols and a shotgun over the last 4 years, but would like to acquire ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree43Likes

Thread: When to invest in a safe

When to invest in a safe

So, I'm relatively new to the firearms game. I've bought 2 pistols and a shotgun over the last 4 years, but would like to acquire more. Exactly what I'm going to buy isn't the point of this post, but suffice it to say I would like to have a well-rounded collection of pistols, shotguns, and rifles in the future.

As such, I want to discuss the necessity for secure storage in a rental housing situation. I have a trustworthy roommate, so him having access to my firearms is not something that greatly concerns me...I know he's not into guns, has a good job, and has no reason to steal them for drug money or whatever people steal stuff for. However, burglary/theft is a genuine concern, especially considering 2 of the units near me have been broken into in the last year.

My overall question is: Over what dollar amount/firearm count does a safe necessitate itself? Another question for discussion would be what intermediate measures between hiding/simple locks (what I'm doing now) and full-on gun safe exist and work for you all?

Thank you in advance for your input!

VIP Member
    I would say you are there. However my warning: "Guns will multiply like rabbits once you get a safe"
    so purchase a much larger unit that you think you need.
    Fast is fine, but accuracy is everything.
    Wyatt Earp

VIP Member
    No matter the living arrangements you should be responsible for your firearms . Get a safe as soon as you can afford it or get a storage locker so you can lock them up .

Don't count on someone else doing the right thing .
    Member of the NRA