Over and Under for Trap, Skeet, Sporting Clays

This is a discussion on Over and Under for Trap, Skeet, Sporting Clays within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I got bit by the trap and skeet bug after trying skeet for the first time, and trap for the first time in 18 years ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Over and Under for Trap, Skeet, Sporting Clays

Distinguished Member Array brocktice's Avatar

I got bit by the trap and skeet bug after trying skeet for the first time, and trap for the first time in 18 years or so this past Thursday.

I have a Mossberg Maverick for HD but I'd like to get an over and under for the clays. I'm totally new to that field. I only know I don't want something with an auto safety, and I don't need anything fancy.

Recommendations?

How much do you want to spend? About the cheapest good trap guns are Brownings and they go from $1500 used to $3000 new. On the upper end you are looking at 10 to 15 thousand. With a shotgun its all about fit, if it don't fit your are not going to hit. About any shotgun can be made to fit with an adjustable comb and butt plate but here again is money spent. Probably the best thing you can do is ask to shoot a few guns at the trap range and see what you like, I don't know a trap shooter that won't let anyone shoot there shotgun if asked.

Don't need to spend a lot of money. I shoot just as good for trap with my Rem 870 as I do with my waaay more expensive Ithaca with fancy engraving on it.

I would not say that the cheapst good guns go from 1500 to 3000K.
    Tinman517 and DingBat like this.
    Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”
    And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

Isaiah 6:8

Quote Originally Posted by muddy View Post
    How much do you want to spend? About the cheapest good trap guns are Brownings and they go from $1500 used to $3000 new.
    Wow, I wasn't even looking to spend that much.