Target pistol. Help needed!

This is a discussion on Target pistol. Help needed! within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Can anyone out there help me. I'm thinking about entering the world of competition target shooting. Got interested by watching these matches at my local ...

Thread: Target pistol. Help needed!

Can anyone out there help me. I'm thinking about entering the world of competition target shooting. Got interested by watching these matches at my local club/shooting range. I'm looking for the best in a .22 caliber model but as a beginner I can only spend about $500.00. Accuracy with adjustability for now with the abillity to add attachments later is what I'm reading the most about. I know there are a lot out there to choose from so that's why your help is needed. I'm pretty sure from what I've already seen I leaning toward an auto loader (for speed and ease reasons). I will listen and consider what ever help you can offer.[/B][/B]
    As a citizen of this country I consider it a legal right but yet a privelege to carry a handgun for defensive purposes. I'm also comfortable knowing there are others out there that feel the same way.

Ruger Mark II target maybe ?

Thats what i have i dont compete though

An S&W Model 22 or 41 would be a good choice to start with. Beretta's U22Neos is a nice one as well.

The real upside to the Neos is that it is a fully modular gun. You can change barrels, grips and slides. It has a full length Picatinny rail system on each barrel as well as adjustable sights. There are three (I think) pistol barrel lengths as well as a carbine kit that can convert it to a rifle.

As for the Smith choices, I own a 422 that I have been happy with when I really want to slow things down at the range and shoot for accuracy. Off handed, I can maintain a 3" group at 25 yards. I do better with my old Ruger MkII standard, but in all not bad.

Administrator