Children's Firearms Safety Class

This is a discussion on Children's Firearms Safety Class within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm an NRA pistol instructor. I've had several parents ask me to instruct a children's introduction to firearms safety class when it gets warm out. ...

Thread: Children's Firearms Safety Class

I'm an NRA pistol instructor. I've had several parents ask me to instruct a children's introduction to firearms safety class when it gets warm out.

For those of you who are instructors, have you done something like this? What would you include? How long would the class be? Any suggestions would be helpful.

My initial thoughts are: insist 1 parent attend with the child, limit size of class to no more than 5 kids, teach a quick version of Eddie Eagle first, then the NRA safety rules. I have a Ruger 22 pistol. Should I also get a small .22 rifle or just concentrate on pistols?

Please give me as much commentary as you can, so I can develope a quality program that will keep the kids interested.
    Member of the National Rifle Association's Board of Directors
    www.BuckeyeFirearms.org Buckeye Firearms Association Central OH Chair
    NRA Instructor/CCW Instructor/Realtor
    2009 NRA Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award Recipient

Lead Moderator
    Personally I would concentrate on rifles. I see no need for children(even hunting age) to handle pistols. they are shorter ,therefore easier to point in the wrong direction. Also much harder to shoot accurately. (than a rifle)
    I have taught both my kids to handle rifles from the age of 7 yrs old. I just see handguns as not needed for youngsters(yet) . Kids can get frustrated easily ,you want em to have it easy(to keep em interested).
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

VIP Member
    What are the ages of the kids?