Ammunition ?

Ammunition ?

This is a discussion on Ammunition ? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I live in NJ (no cracks please), HP are illegal. I was wondering if anyone know anything about these rounds and what your thought are. ...

Thread: Ammunition ?

Ammunition ?

I live in NJ (no cracks please), HP are illegal. I was wondering if anyone know anything about these rounds and what your thought are.

http://www.sportsmansguide.com/cb/cb.asp?a=119937

From what I've been told from a friend they have the same effect as HP, but are legal.

Thanks,

Rich

VIP Member
    I have no experience with them, but the general consensus on this board is that they are not a viable self-defense round. You may want to look into the Federal EFMJ (expanding full metal jacket) round.

http://www.federalpremium.com/default.asp?menu=1&s1=7

I'm not certain about their legality, but they are NOT a traditional hollow point, and they have a much better reputation among shooters than the Extreme Shock rounds do. And, of course... What exit? (I was 99 off the GSP when I lived there!)
    A man fires a rifle for many years, and he goes to war. And afterward he turns the rifle in at the armory, and he believes he's finished with the rifle. But no matter what else he might do with his hands - love a woman, build a house, change his son's diaper - his hands remember the rifle.

Thanks I'll have to look into them. Interesting that the two places I've been buying from (Cabelas & Sportsmanguide) don't seem to carry them.

And you just couldn't resist the exit thing, OK I'm between 8 & 7A on the turnpike.

I'm a fan of the EFMJ rounds and carry them in one of my 1911. They are not the easiest to find because it seems demand for them is high. I get the best prices so far from:

http://www.streichers.com/

If they are out of stock it's worth calling and talking to them. They'll know when more is due in.

They are legal in NJ.