Rifled Barrels and Shot

Rifled Barrels and Shot

This is a discussion on Rifled Barrels and Shot within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; At our shop we are seeing increasing interest in the Taurus Judge. More requests are being made for the 3" bbl than for the 6" ...

Senior Moderator

Rifled Barrels and Shot

At our shop we are seeing increasing interest in the Taurus Judge. More requests are being made for the 3" bbl than for the 6" but it's becoming a gun of great popularity, at least in my area, more particularly because of it's ability to shoot both .45LCs and .410 shotgun shells from its rifled barrel.

Now, the first two thing I was told when I started learning about shotguns were: Never put a rifled slug down a rifled barrel and never shoot shot from a rifled barrel.

How is it possible to shoot shot from the rifled barrel of the Judge and not damage the rifling or cause other problems?

VIP Member
    The barrel has to be cleaned as nec. However if the .410 shotgun shell has a shot cup the lead probably won't hit the rifling much; the real problem may be from spinning the pattern and getting blown patterns. Though in a handgun and hand gun ranges it probably isn't much of a factor; in a rifled barreled or rifled choke tubed shotgun and buck shot it can make you miss or have ineffectual patterns.
    I shoot foster slugs in a rifled shotgun barrel and it works good and is accurate to 100 yds.

As you are most likely aware, the rifling isn't very profound. And at only 3" there isn't much to effect the shot pattern, which is going to be rather large anyway with small shot. Finally, they had to have some type of rifling or it would be a short barrelled shotgun and not importable or saleable.

JD
    Administrator
    Actually it would be an AOW if it was smooth bore, not an SBS, but that's topic for another thread

I agree that the 3" may be short enough to prevent damage, but the Judge also comes in a 6" model...