Target Shooting with a Rifle?

This is a discussion on Target Shooting with a Rifle? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hello, I get to be new at something again. As many of you have read I picked up my first centerfire rifle a few days ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Target Shooting with a Rifle?

Senior Member Array Joshua M. Smith's Avatar

Target Shooting with a Rifle?

Hello,

I get to be new at something again.

As many of you have read I picked up my first centerfire rifle a few days ago. Since then I've been trying to determine its inherent accuracy.

There is a problem. I can't seem to shoot a piece of a target, say, a bullseye. If I'm given a piece of paper, I will shoot within the confines of that paper, but I'm just no good when shooting something smaller, like a bullseye. This is with open sights.

Case in point:

I started shooting this target at 50yds using the green dot as a target. I plunked those three shots into the group that's circled. It measures less than an inch and I knew I threw the last shot.

After those three shots things went downhill. It wasn't the gun; I just couldn't see the green dot any longer. The white piece of 4x4" paper became my focal point. I managed to keep most shots on the 9x12" sheet of cardboard holding the paper.

But then, to make sure it wasn't the gun, I got out another 4x4" sheet of paper and put a playing card on it. I shot 9 rounds at it.

Eight of the nine rounds fired struck someplace on the paper, three striking the card that I was using as an aiming point. Notice how the hits are peripheral to my aiming point. However, all the rounds are in a smaller area than they had been on the previous target.