S&W 442 with CT Laser-First Range Trip

This is a discussion on S&W 442 with CT Laser-First Range Trip within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have been shooting and carrying J frame S&Ws for a good many years, usually with a Hip grip and stuck in the front of ...

Thread: S&W 442 with CT Laser-First Range Trip

S&W 442 with CT Laser-First Range Trip

I have been shooting and carrying J frame S&Ws for a good many years, usually with a Hip grip and stuck in the front of my pants. After starting to pocket carry and wanting a lighter weapon, I bought a 442. A great little gun by the way, and decided to try a Laser Grip with it.

I had never fired any weapon with a laser before so this was a new experience. First for the Laser, I went with the Crimson Trace LG-105. This is a newer model and I really like it. It is a small open backstrap type grip made from a hard polymer material with some stippling in it to enhance the grip. I noticed no more felt recoil and the polymer material is not as grabby as rubber and still keeps the guns profile small.

I used my carry ammo of Speer Gold Dot 135 Gr +p and a bunch of my reloads in 158 gr RNFP Poly Coated Lead and also 158 Gr JSP from Winchester. Both of my reloads were noticeably lighter in recoil than the Gold Dots but they all shot well.

Inside and at low light, the laser is bright enough that it looks like it will burn a hole through the target but surprisingly, I could still see it in full sunshine at 10 yards on an IDPA cardboard target.
    The LG-105 has a front mounted button that turns the laser on when you grip the gun. It has no master on/off switch but I didn't see a need for one any ways.