1911 help? Brass hitting me in the face!

This is a discussion on 1911 help? Brass hitting me in the face! within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; So I am still pretty new to 1911's, and have a question. I took my Springfield GI Champion out to the range yesterday. It has ...

Thread: 1911 help? Brass hitting me in the face!

So I am still pretty new to 1911's, and have a question. I took my Springfield GI Champion out to the range yesterday. It has been a 100% reliable gun with about 500 rounds through it. After I went through about 50 rounds yesterday, the brass started hitting me in the face. And I got one stovepipe. I was using WWB, and the mags I was using were new, I just bought 6 factory Springer 7 shot mags. Could the issue be the mags?, or is it an extractor issue?, and if so how do I fix it? Thanks for any help.

haha. thats kinda amusing. dont have an answer for ya though sorry

I am sure one of the gunsmiths with way more experience than I will chime in, but may be an extractor tension issue.
    NRA, USPSA SS & Lim-10
    Blessed are they who, faced with danger, think only of the front sight. J. Cooper

VIP Member
    My first instinct would be your grip....was your wrist locked (limp-wristing will cause both problems you mentioned)? Typically when you shoot a lot of rounds at a time, you'll start out doing it right then, towards the end you may have the tendency to get a little sloppy.

Second, could be an extractor issue. Before making any adjustments to your extractor be sure it's not you.
    Quemadmodum gladius neminem occidit, occidentis telum est.-Seneca

"If you carry a gun, people will call you paranoid. If I have a gun, what do I have to be paranoid about?" -Clint Smith

"An unarmed man can only flee from evil, and evil is not overcome by fleeing from it." -Jeff Cooper

1943 - 2009
    It might be a recoil spring issue.

http://www.sightm1911.com/index.htm