A Bad Experience During A Steel Match

This is a discussion on A Bad Experience During A Steel Match within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Last night (Wednesday) I went to my usual steel match competition here in Las Vegas. I have been shooting in this match every week for ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A Bad Experience During A Steel Match

1952 - 2006

Last night (Wednesday) I went to my usual steel match competition here in Las Vegas. I have been shooting in this match every week for the last several months now, using MagTech 45ACP 230gr ball ammo.
    During the last few weeks I have experienced a few misfires of this ammo, no matter how many times I hit the primer the round was dead. Out of a case of 1000 rounds I have found 6 misfires. Last night while shooting one stage I had fired at two plates and hit both, when I fired at the 3rd one instead of BANG! I got POOF!! The round hit the plate, all heard and saw it strike. My $3000 custom built Rock River 1911 was smoking and locked up tight. I removed the magazine and smoke came from the mag as well. Then examining my gun carefully I observed a crack down the length of the barrel hood. This is a BarSto ramped bull barrel with a fully supported chamber. The slide is bulged about .020. The gun is locked up tight.
    I intend to have another long conversation with MagTech in the morning. I have already discussed the misfires with them and was told they would investigate that particular lot of ammo. After I get through talking to them tomorrow I intend to see that they have my top-end rebuilt, or I am going to have someone's butt in a sling.

I don't know if anyone else has experienced any problem with MagTech ammo but if you have I would love to hear what you have to say.
    Heroes are people who do what has to be done, when it has to be done, regardless of the consequences