Defensive Carry banner

AK-47 pistols

17K views 49 replies 27 participants last post by  David III 
#1 ·
Im new here, Im new to Carrying, Im new to the hobby in general so excuse me please if Im asking this in the wrong place.
Is carrying one of these ak pistols legal? I live in Michigan if thats relevant. Thank you in advance.

#2 ·
I have never seen an AK pistol. Any pics or links? thanks. Carrying anything registered as a pistol should be legal , however very impractical and probably not going to look go should you go to court.

#3 ·
Technically - yes it's a pistol so - could be carried.

But as Rocky mentions ....... it will almost for sure if used defensively land you in some hurt. It would almost for sure get an immediate ''assault'' label which in itself is not helpful!

As a fun gun for range etc ... huge grin factor IMO - but not actually necessarily a very practical beast - people love the muzzle flash tho I hear!!

To imagine one - just take as much barrel length of a regular AK as your imagination permits - and no stock - that'll be close!

#5 ·
Yeah, I'm with P95 and rocky.

The main thing you would REALLY need to be concerned about is overpentration. A 7.62x39 at self-defense ranges on the street will probably cut right through your target and very possibly whatever is beyond him. You would need to be DAMNED sure you have a concrete bunker or earthen berm for a background if you need to shoot. I would HIGHLY suggest you pursue another route. AK's of any size are going to be very hard to conceal - and for the size you could probably conceal four handguns that total more ammo. But concealment, yeah.. That'd be a pain. Those banana mags are going to complicate it terribly. And I'll tell you man, if I saw someone printing a Blondie at the grocery store I'd be staying real close to them and eyeing them very carefully.