Shooting Techniques

Shooting Techniques

This is a discussion on Shooting Techniques within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have been shooting handguns for over 12 years now. I have attended two different academys. NYS Dept of Corrections and the NYPD academy. Both ...

Thread: Shooting Techniques

Shooting Techniques

I have been shooting handguns for over 12 years now. I have attended two different academys. NYS Dept of Corrections and the NYPD academy. Both teach to pull the trigger with the first pad of your index finger. I have been shooting this way and it has worked out well. I shoot good groups out to 25 yards.

I recently tried shooting with the first joint of my index finger. I have very long fingers and I actually shoot better this way. It has been drilled into my head in both academys that shooting this way will jerk the trigger. Therefore, for over 12 years I've complied with that instruction. But if the first joint works better for a guy with ET fingers, than why not shoot that way?

Does anyone else have this issue?
    Police Defensive Tactics, Firearms, Carbine Rifle and Taser Instructor
    Glock Armorer
    NRA Life Member
    It is better to have your gun and not need it, than to need it and not have it!
    You cannot choose the conditions for a gunfight, so train in all conditions!

if the gun doesnt fit your hand how it should (like if u have long fingers), then i can see the next index working better for you.
    technique is important, but do what works best for you.
    as long as it isnt in between the 2 joints, i can see it working because when you bend your finger, you bend it at the larger joint. so pulling straight back without too much movement in the rest of the hand is quite possible.

so i would never teach that to anyone, but if it works better for you than great!
    Wo die Notwehr aufhört, fängt der Mord an
    (Murder begins where self-defense ends)
    Georg Büchner