How much difference does ammo brand make when shooting for competition ?

This is a discussion on How much difference does ammo brand make when shooting for competition ? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am new to pistol shooting and have my first pistol and am trying to become accurate with it. I have difficulty being consistent with ...

Thread: How much difference does ammo brand make when shooting for competition ?

How much difference does ammo brand make when shooting for competition ?

I am new to pistol shooting and have my first pistol and am trying to become accurate with it. I have difficulty being consistent with a bench rested 9mm pistol at 20 yards (S&W 9VE). I can get up to 2 or 3 rounds in a row to go into the 12 inch circle target at 20 yds, BUT, then 1 or 2 rounds seem to just fly way off the 18 x 24 inch paper. Again, I am resting the gun on a shooting bench holding it very still and slowly squeeze the trigger while aiming carefully. I am using Wal Mart bought Winchester 115 grain 9mm ammo. Would the occassional round flying way off target be becasue I bought the cheapest ammo I can find?? I hate to think I am that poor of a shot. I am beginning to think my poor target shooting is not so much my inexperience and may be in large part due to the ammo.

2. Remove Ads

Quote Originally Posted by paulbb View Post
    I am new to pistol shooting and have my first pistol and am trying to become accurate with it.
    Well... I know you probably don't want to hear this, but the above is a more likely culprit. Ammo can make a difference, but typically not the kind of difference you're seeing. It could be the gun, but again...

The easy test is to have an experienced shooter try it. There are all kinds of problems that new shooters experience that they may not be aware that they're doing.