Brand-new magazine not feeding reliably?

This is a discussion on Brand-new magazine not feeding reliably? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Please forgive me if this is a total noob question . . . but as that's what I am, here goes . . . Just ...

Please forgive me if this is a total noob question . . . but as that's what I am, here goes . . .

Just purchased a 10-round magazine for my 9mm semi-auto. The 8-round magazine that came standard works fine, but I wanted another magazine.

Although I haven't shot the magazine yet, I noticed when I cycle the slide a few times the first 2-3 rounds jam and won't feed up. If they do, they come in a bit off-kilter. After those 2-3 it feeds perfectly.

Is this something that will wear in after shooting it a few times? Or is there a quick fix that I can do to make it feed more smoothly for those first few rounds?

Lead Moderator
    What type of gun? What brand of magazine? Try shooting it before condemning the mag.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

Distinguished Member Array SonofASniper's Avatar
    Definately need some more info to help you.
    I will support gun control when you can guarantee all guns are removed from this planet. That includes military and law enforcement. When you can accomplish that, then I will be the last person to lay down my gun. Then I will carry the weapon that replaces the gun.

Oh, man . . . I'm afraid to say what type of gun. I'll probably get laughed off the forum and have my registration to it revoked . . .

It's . . . ummm . . . . it's a Hi Point.

(Now before you jump on me, it's what I could afford and I do plan on buying something better in the future, once I save up some cash and also learn to judge what makes a good gun and what does not. So give a guy a break, okay? :))

What other info do you need?