Lasik and the Dominant Eye

This is a discussion on Lasik and the Dominant Eye within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I hope that I posted this in the right category. I am considering getting Lasik corrective surgery. I wear contacts 95% of the time, but ...

Thread: Lasik and the Dominant Eye

Lasik and the Dominant Eye

I hope that I posted this in the right category.

I am considering getting Lasik corrective surgery. I wear contacts 95% of the time, but I'm getting tired of waking up and putting them in and having them dry out during the day. Rewetting drops only go so far. I've been doing this for about 15 years and it is really starting to irritate my eyes.

Here is my concern, I am right handed and left eye dominant. Not a big deal, I've shot well for over 12 years. I shoot bullseye with only my left eye opened and I shoot combat with both eyes open. But if I get Lasik surgery is there any chance that it will change my dominant eye? I have astigmatism in my right eye which the Lasik should correct. So I wonder if my right eye will then become my dominant eye?

Has anyone had the surgery and had their dominant eye change?

Thanks.
    Police Defensive Tactics, Firearms, Carbine Rifle and Taser Instructor
    Glock Armorer
    NRA Life Member
    It is better to have your gun and not need it, than to need it and not have it!
    You cannot choose the conditions for a gunfight, so train in all conditions!

2. Remove Ads

One of my friends is right handed but shoots left because he is left eye dominant.

It took him some time to learn to shoot left handed but he does it and does it well now.

It doesn't really matter what eye is dominant, it is simple to change your shooting hand.

Lasik is still 'iffy'.. my boss had it and it made his eyes worse, one of my co-workers had it and now her eyes are fine..