looking to build a gun

This is a discussion on looking to build a gun within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; i am looking to build a 1911 from parts, now i know that i am going to have to have one of the local gun ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: looking to build a gun

looking to build a gun

i am looking to build a 1911 from parts, now i know that i am going to have to have one of the local gun shops order me the frame since i have no ffl. now i want to know after the frame is registered to me since it is like purchasing a pistol anyways, do i need to have any license or anything to complete the gun(i live in PA btw). or is the frame registered to me all i need to have done. thanks ahead of time

2. Remove Ads

The only part that is mandated by the ATF is the frame. The rest may be bought without regulation, background checks, etc. No further documentation is required. I am not a lawyer, so take what I say with a good dose of research of your own.
    EVIL PREVAILS WHEN GOOD MEN FAIL TO ACT.

Quote Originally Posted by vitals View Post
    i am looking to build a 1911 from parts, now i know that i am going to have to have one of the local gun shops order me the frame since i have no ffl. now i want to know after the frame is registered to me since it is like purchasing a pistol anyways, do i need to have any license or anything to complete the gun(i live in PA btw). or is the frame registered to me all i need to have done. thanks ahead of time
    Pa has no gun registration. Once you order the frame thru a FFl thats it, do what you want. Once built just follow Pa firearms laws for transport and carry.

Administrator
    May I suggest that you give Brownell's a call & ask them to send you a copy of their 1911 catalog.
    The catalog features photos of 1911s that have already been built using parts from Ed Brown, Wilson, Nowlin, Smith & Alexander etc...and it's GREAT.