Game Over

This is a discussion on Game Over within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I've been carrying concealed for 2-1/2 years, always open carrying when in restaurants that serve alcohol (illegal in Virginia to conceal carry in that type ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Game Over

Game Over

I've been carrying concealed for 2-1/2 years, always open carrying when in restaurants that serve alcohol (illegal in Virginia to conceal carry in that type establishment). My wife and I join our Rabbi and his wife once or twice a week for meals. As they are both extremely liberal gun haters (they tried to get me to attend the Million Mom March with them a few years ago in Wash. DC), I've been trying to see how long I can open carry around them without them seeing it by walking at the rear of the group, carrying a jacket over my arm or keeping my body turned away from them.

As an aside, I'm pretty liberal on a lot of social issues, too, but not on the 2nd Ammendment. Obama is NOT getting my vote.

Well, my game is over. Wednesday evening we met them at Orapax, a Greek place in Norfolk. I dropped my wife at the door and parked the car. All three of them were already at the table when I came in. I stood at the hostess station, scanning the main room to see where they were sitting. Lo and behold, they were at my 4 o'clock, in what is usually the smoking section, due to the main room being filled by a large private party. I stood there for probably 30 seconds, with my gun on my hip at 4 o'clock and in full view of all of them. I turned and saw the Rabbi motioning me over. Instead of a full arm wave, he was just waggling his finger and his face was ashen. Obviously, he had seen the gun but was too polite to say anything about it during the meal.