I want to make sure I'm thinking about this the right way - RE: Front Sight Focus

I want to make sure I'm thinking about this the right way - RE: Front Sight Focus

This is a discussion on I want to make sure I'm thinking about this the right way - RE: Front Sight Focus within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Focusing on the front sight has been an issue for me ever since I started shooting. Like so many, my first instinct was to focus ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I want to make sure I'm thinking about this the right way - RE: Front Sight Focus

Distinguished Member Array Bob The Great's Avatar

Question I want to make sure I'm thinking about this the right way - RE: Front Sight Focus

Focusing on the front sight has been an issue for me ever since I started shooting. Like so many, my first instinct was to focus on the target and I had nobody to correct me, so I got into this bad habit. Even so, I've always been a "good enough shot" that I never devoted much time to learning to really focus on the front sight. But, now I've decided to correct this, and here's my issue.

By focusing on the front sight with both eyes open, I see two targets, neither one of which is "right." When focused on the target, I see two guns, but I've learned to use the "left-hand" gun (seen by my dominant right eye), and ignore the other one. But that doesn't work with two targets, because the true target is roughly half-way between the two apparent targets. I did some experimenting today with my airsoft pistol, and couldn't hit jack aiming at either target. Aiming between them gave me better results, but I was still guessing to find the half-way point.

Eventually, I developed a kind of work-around, but I don't know if this is just me making things up, or if this is how it's really supposed to work.