Stove Pipe Jam

This is a discussion on Stove Pipe Jam within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Stove Pipe Jam I have a Ruger 10/22 that has recently started to have a problem. Every 100 – 200 rounds I am getting a ...

Thread: Stove Pipe Jam

Stove Pipe Jam

Stove Pipe Jam

I have a Ruger 10/22 that has recently started to have a problem. Every 100 – 200 rounds I am getting a stove pipe jam (the extracted cartridge gets caught in the bolt as the rifle cycles trying to load the next round). It does not seem to be magazine related, and as I said, it happens every 100 – 200 rounds consistently over the last several range trips.

I was hoping that somebody here might be able to give me an idea as to what could cause this kind of jam. Recoil Spring going bad? Bad lot of ammo (so far all of the ammo this is happening with is from the same case)? Bad extractor (I looked at this and it “looks” ok, but I’m no expert)? Built up “gunk” in the chamber? Any ideas???

Thanks.

2. Remove Ads

If it's only happened with one brand of ammo, I'd certainly investigate that further before jumping to any conclusions about your gun. .22's are famously picky with ammo, but I've never yet found a .22 that doesn't happily digest CCI ammo. Pick up a few boxes of that and see if it runs smoothly.

A through cleaning sure wouldn't hurt it - why not disassemble it and give it a good cleaning? I've heard some real good things about GunZilla lately.

How old is this 10/22 and how many rounds have you put through it? Changing the springs every 10,000 rounds or so seems like a good idea, although I don't know how long Ruger says they're supposed to last.

Anyway, give it a good cleaning and try some higher quality ammo, and report back

Peace,
    Pete Zaria.
    Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.
    - Margaret Mead

"Booger Hook Off the Bang Switch" - unknown