minimal gun(s) for self defense

This is a discussion on minimal gun(s) for self defense within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Don't know where to post this and don't know if heading is so great, so please excuse on both accounts if I did post in ...

Thread: minimal gun(s) for self defense

Don't know where to post this and don't know if heading is so great, so please excuse on both accounts if I did post in wrong spot... Having said that, what would most here consider a good minimal collection for a gun owner for self defense? I know, ONE and/or up to as much as the wallet can tolerate but realistically, I don't have unlimited funds. Yes, newbie here. Sorry!

I currently have two old school .38 revolvers, a Bersa .380, a shot gun and a 9 mm on layaway. I don't have my CWL in hand yet, just waiting for the state to get off the pot, Halloween will be about 90 days so hoping I get it sometime in near future.

I am not sure which will end up as carry and which will be HD. The model 10 and shotgun for sure are HD with the pistols and snubbie vying for carry and/or BUG. I am not sure what would be best if SHTF either but guess something is better than nothing.

I am thinking, once confident with my pistols, one more 9 mm might "complete my family". My logic for duplicates is so the kids can share ammo since only one wallet feeding them... I don't know if I have fallen victim to gun "fever" or not... I suspect probably too late now. Oh, FYI, single middle aged female here. Just me and my dawgz.

Sounds like a good start to me. I would pick up a .22 pistol to help ease the price of practice. It will pay for itself quite quickly in ammo savings. You can shoot 550 rnds for about $13 vs the $100 you would pay for 9mm.
    Have fun with your new addiction.
    Benjamin Franklin once said, "he that would supplant a little liberty for a little safety deserves neither".

Administrator