Glock 19C

Glock 19C

This is a discussion on Glock 19C within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Any thoughts on the Glock 19C as a carry gun. Would the compensator be an advantage or disadvantage? Would there be a flash that would ...

Thread: Glock 19C

Glock 19C

Any thoughts on the Glock 19C as a carry gun. Would the compensator be an advantage or disadvantage? Would there be a flash that would be blinding at night?

Thanks, Ray

Distinguished Member Array GWRedDragon's Avatar
    I'd wonder if lint would more easily build up inside...just a thought. I guess it depends on the holster.
    "Trust in God with hand on sword" -Inscription on my family's coat of arms from medieval England
    ---Carry options: G26/MTAC, PF9/MiniTuck, PPK/Pocket, USP40/OWB---
    ---NOTE: I am not an expert. If I ever start acting like a know-it-all, please call me on it immediately. ---

VIP Member
    If the compensator is a port that directs the gas out the side of the barrel and slide, you likely would not want to carry that for personal defense. Could get burned if you are holding the gun close in for retention.

I haven't shot a standard Glock 19 in several years now, but I don't recall that recoil or muzzle tilt was much of an issue. So, no need for compensation.

I have a ported .40 which I like for some things, but not for carry.

Many who have posted in these forums make a blanket statement that the hot gas should only come out the front. Consensus seems to be that compensation is a disadvantage.

Glock 19C.....good gun I had one and carried it for a couple years and then sold it to a friend.....i didn't have any problems.......and a good gun to shoot too.........

Lead Moderator
    No real need for one on a 9mm.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset