Locking up firearms

Locking up firearms

This is a discussion on Locking up firearms within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm kind of new to owning firearms. I recently got my first pistol over the summer, but I've been to the range a few times ...

Locking up firearms

I'm kind of new to owning firearms. I recently got my first pistol over the summer, but I've been to the range a few times before that with friends. I have a small safe for the pistol so that's not the issue. I want to buy a rifle soon but I don't want to spend a lot of money on a large safe or case to fit one rifle (or hopefully several). I was wondering if anyone had any ideas or know of relatively cheap safes for rifles. Keep in mind that I live with my parents and I younger siblings.

Got any old refrigerators in the back yard? Just kidding....actually I have a couple....yeah, redneckville for sure. Just an idea with a hasp and padlock. Look to the future, and check out Wal Mart's Sentry safes.

A construction job site box (greenlee, knaack, etc..) is viable. They can be found used at pawn stores, the web etc... They are heavy and can be chained down...
    rolyat63
    NRA Certified Pistol Instructor

A gun in the hand is a million times more valuable than a cop on the phone!

FL Concealed Weapon or Firearm Program

Distinguished Member Array Colin's Avatar
    The cheap electronic safes for sale will likely start beeping on you after about 6-9 months, you can use a key to open them.

Depends on rifle,if you are talking about making it safe then you can use a gun lock thru the action,or a bolt action rifle you can remove the bolt and put it in your vehicle,an AR15 remove the bolt carrier group
    "Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the country,"
    --Mayor Marion Barry, Washington , DC .

I'd get a safe that was more than a metal 'carrying case'...
    You're going to fill it anyway...eventually.