Pistol range ?

This is a discussion on Pistol range ? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Ok I've been shooting for quite a few years. With that being said I've never been to a real shooting range anywhere. I'm just wondering ...

Thread: Pistol range ?

Pistol range ?

Ok I've been shooting for quite a few years. With that being said I've never been to a real shooting range anywhere. I'm just wondering what the typical distance is for a pistol range. I have a great place to shoot on my property with a huge earth backstop. And I would like a setup as much like a real pistol range as possible.
    "For a people who are free, and who mean to remain so, a well-organized and armed militia is their best security."
    Thomas Jefferson

2. Remove Ads

Administrator
    Distances could be anywhere from 0 to 25-35 yards.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Well, on a formal range (outdoor), the target stands are typically set at 25 yds from the firing line. Indoor ranges typically have targets that run out to any length you wish to stop them at. Personally, I like the outdoor range better than the indoor range. When I go, I usually have the place to myself, and I'll shoot from 7-10yds out in the open. I do live in the country, but my backstop consists of a self built metal stop which I mainly use for 22lr. 9mm SD loads leave some noticeable dents in the 1/8" metal, but I have done it a few times. Set up your range, and stand and fire from wherever you want. I figure your berm should be at least 5' higher than the ground you're shooting from depending on terrain. My local gun club range has berms twice this high, but you always end up shooting uphill as the firing line is lowest.

Thats great I've got the room for approx 50 yards. Thanks for the quick reply
    "For a people who are free, and who mean to remain so, a well-organized and armed militia is their best security."
    Thomas Jefferson