Dry Fire Practice with Dummunition or snap-caps

This is a discussion on Dry Fire Practice with Dummunition or snap-caps within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi, I am new to CC and handgun ownership. I am signed up for a safety class. I have been reading about dry fire training ...

Thread: Dry Fire Practice with Dummunition or snap-caps

Hi,

I am new to CC and handgun ownership. I am signed up for a safety class. I have been reading about dry fire training and use of "dummunition" and snap caps. Can anyone explain what exactly they do when loaded and fired? I have read posts suggesting that dry firing can be bad for the gun (Glock 22 and 27). Comments from anyone that has used the Dummunition brand would be greatly appreciated. For that matter, any additional information would be great.

Thanks.

Dan

Distinguished Member Array GWRedDragon's Avatar
    A 'snap cap' is generally a piece of metal or plastic molded in the shape of a cartridge, with a spring inside attached to a piece of metal where the primer would normally be. All it does is absorb the force of the firing pin strike so that the firing pin does not impact the backside of the breach face with too much force.

I recommend clear ones that you can instantly see are not real cartridges:

"Trust in God with hand on sword" -Inscription on my family's coat of arms from medieval England
    ---Carry options: G26/MTAC, PF9/MiniTuck, PPK/Pocket, USP40/OWB---
    ---NOTE: I am not an expert. If I ever start acting like a know-it-all, please call me on it immediately. ---

I have also heard they are great for practicing your malfunction drills when you are a little more seasoned with your weapon. Loading them in randomly with your live rounds while at the range during your shooting drills can be good practice.

Anyone else have any thoughts/feelings about this?

Quote Originally Posted by Weedy View Post