Children & Shooting

Children & Shooting

This is a discussion on Children & Shooting within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I saw a small hot pink .22 the other day at Dick's sporting goods store. I'd like to get it for my daughter. Does anyone ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Children & Shooting

I saw a small hot pink .22 the other day at Dick's sporting goods store. I'd like to get it for my daughter. Does anyone have something like this, I'm not sure what make it was? What age did your kids start shooting with you?

JD
    Administrator
    They're called "Crickets" My son is only 2 months old but I plan on starting him around 5-6ish as that's about when I started shooting.

Yep. My daughter got her Cricket at age 7. Unfortunately it's a hand-me-down from a cousin and has a plain wood stock. She's seen the pink one and wants it so badly she can't stand it!

They're great little gun with which to begin firearms familiarization, safety, and training.
    "Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in a grey twilight that knows not victory nor defeat."

Theodore Roosevelt

Senior Moderator
    I plan on starting my son with his on BB gun between 6-8 and if he shows that he can be responsible then he can get his own .22 or shotgun.
    “You can sway a thousand men by appealing to their prejudices quicker than you can convince one man by logic.”

― Robert A. Heinlein,

Same with my boys.....
    Magazine <> clip - know the difference

martyr is a fancy name for crappy fighter
    You have never lived until you have almost died. For those that have fought for it, life has a special flavor the protected will never know

VIP Member
    JD,
    I thought you bought a pink Cricket for one of your SHTF guns!