Defensive Carry banner

Beginner Revolver

4K views 34 replies 29 participants last post by  mcp1810 
#1 ·
I am new to revolver shooting and am looking for a recommendation for a quality wheelgun. I would prefer for it to be about in the $500 range and would not mind buying used. I am looking for something in 357 mag. It will be used mainly for my woods/range gun.

Thanks

#4 ·
Good call

Yea...good call on a .357mag revolver...as you can shoot .38's for practice and .357 when you need the power, such as hunting.

My first two handguns were both S&W .357magnums...a new Model 19 Combat Magnum with a 6" barrel and used Model 13 with a 3" barrel. Still have both...

#7 ·
Thanks guys!

I was thinking maybe about a used colt trooper, does anyone know anything about these?

And i have been looking at the rugers, they look really nice.

#8 ·
S&W 686/586 or Ruger GP-100; I have both, and, honestly, they are both great pistols. You will not go wrong with either one.

I used to have a Taurus Tracker in .357...and, while it wasn't a bad shooter...the Ruger or Smith are much better choices.

#10 ·
you asked...

In 1953 Colt introduced two new DA revolvers, the premium Model 357 and the "Budget" Trooper.

The Model 357 was intended to be Colt's premium holster gun, and the Trooper was to be for sales to police and civilians wanting a similar but cheaper gun.

From 1953 to 1961 the Trooper and Model 357 were separate guns, different in caliber and in the firing pin system.
The Python was basically a much higher grade Model 357.

In 1961 the .38 Special Trooper with the hammer mounted firing pin was discontinued, the 357 was simply re-named as the Trooper, and it was offered in both calibers.

In 1968-69 the old style Trooper was discontinued and replaced by a totally new design; the Trooper Mark III.

In 1983 the Trooper Mark III was replaced by a slightly modified Trooper Mark V.