Handgun Grip Advice

Handgun Grip Advice

This is a discussion on Handgun Grip Advice within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I continually see the advice that when a handgun is properly gripped, the barrel should be lined up with the bones in the forearm. I ...

Handgun Grip Advice

I continually see the advice that when a handgun is properly gripped, the barrel should be lined up with the bones in the forearm. I would be very interested in knowing whether that is actually true in practice. I have been shooting handguns for well over 40 years, and possibly it is just my anatomy, but with my shooting grip the bore line definitely points well right of the extended centerline of the radius/ulna bones of my forearm. If I grip it in such a way that they do line up, the grip is decidedly uncomfortable and unstable. Try assuming an Isosceles stance and see how well the barrel and bones line up. If they do line up, your impact point will be so far left you would probably miss a target 10 feet in front of you. Thanks for any thoughts on this subject.

I just posted this on the USCCA forum, and thought I would try this one as well. I hope that is not offensive to anyone.
    Last edited by waddy; May 1st, 2009 at 12:22 PM. Reason: A reference to the USCCA newsletter, which is not applicable here.
    Endowment member of NRA
    NRA Certified Instructor
    Veteran USN

Administrator
    If you have been shooting and hitting for 40 years then obviously you have found a grip that is perfectly natural to you and works for you personally.
    Stick with it.

Senior Member Array mr surveyor's Avatar
    Waddy