I dont understand the law! ARRRRGH

I dont understand the law! ARRRRGH

This is a discussion on I dont understand the law! ARRRRGH within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I dont understand the law when it comes to owning a handgun between the ages of 18-21. From what I can tell, I can own ...

Thread: I dont understand the law! ARRRRGH

Arrow I dont understand the law! ARRRRGH

I dont understand the law when it comes to owning a handgun between the ages of 18-21.

From what I can tell, I can own one however I cannot buy it from a dealer. I can carry one if I have a permit in the right state (which I do). I can buy one in private sale, if I am not a prohibited person (Im not) and nowhere in the definition of prohibited person does it mention age. Although I dont know how this applies with out of state FFL transfers.

What on earth is going on?

My main question is. Can I buy a handgun in private sale by way of an FFL transfer between states. I am 20, I am not a prohibited person, I'm reserve Military, and I poses a valid conceal carry permit. For the state I live in and it has reciprocity for the state I go to school in.
    Μολὼν λάβε

VIP Member Array automatic slim's Avatar
    You answered your own question, you cannot buy from a dealer. Any out of state transfer would have to go through a dealer, which would preclude you from the transaction.
    "First gallant South Carolina nobly made the stand."
    Edge of Darkness

Quote Originally Posted by zdinnd View Post
    I dont understand the law when it comes to owning a handgun between the ages of 18-21.

From what I can tell, I can own one however I cannot buy it from a dealer. I can carry one if I have a permit in the right state (which I do). I can buy one in private sale, if I am not a prohibited person (Im not) and nowhere in the definition of prohibited person does it mention age. Although I dont know how this applies with out of state FFL transfers.