1st time shooting

This is a discussion on 1st time shooting within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Well I picked up a nice XDSC 9mm. This is my first time actually shooting at targets. 1st time I shot maybe 25 rounds at ...

Thread: 1st time shooting

1st time shooting

Well I picked up a nice XDSC 9mm. This is my first time actually shooting at targets. 1st time I shot maybe 25 rounds at just bottles from w/e distances. Today I got a paper target from Wal-Mart and should 31 rds. Friend shared the other 31 rounds. This is my paper target 8 were shot from around 3-5 yards; the other 23 rounds were shot about 7-10 yards.

The horrible shots on the edges are from when I closed my right eye and moved the pistol in front of my left eye to shoot, since for some reason I shoot with a rifle the opposite of a pistol. For a rifle I hold the gun butt against my left shoulder and close my right eyes, for a pistol I shoot right hand and close the left eye just the opposite. I am naturally right handed but also do a lot of things left handed as well kinda somewhat both. I just wanted to see which way I shot better. deff left eye closed works better.

I also noticed myself sometimes anticipating the recoil of the gun and dropping the gun before I even pull the trigger is there any way to prevent that.

Anyone with tips on shooting this pistol or grip techniques or anything to help please do so donít feel bad to criticize me.

some were rapid fire the rounds towards the outside, the ones towards the middle I took my time and aimed.

Also for best results do you place the front sight right on the target or slightly below it??

2. Remove Ads

some were rapid fire the rounds towards the outside
    Speed second accuracy first, learn proper grip, trigger control and aiming before going rapid fire.

Mabey reward yourself at the end of a shooting session with a full mag of rapid fire :).