Question from a non-resident purchasing a handgun in NC?

This is a discussion on Question from a non-resident purchasing a handgun in NC? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; What is the procedure, if any, for a non-resident to purchase a handgun in North Carolina? I'm a former resident of Fayetteville, but I live ...

Thread: Question from a non-resident purchasing a handgun in NC?

Question from a non-resident purchasing a handgun in NC?

What is the procedure, if any, for a non-resident to purchase a handgun in North Carolina? I'm a former resident of Fayetteville, but I live in SC now. I'm active duty Air Force, and I have a SC CCW permit.

I do know that if you have a NC concealed permit, you don't need a purchase permit. Could this apply for a SC concealed permit that NC honors?

2. Remove Ads

NO, cannot buy in NC if you don't live in NC. Unless ofcourse there is something about being in the military that allows it, I don't know.

Unless there are military exceptions you'll have to have it shipped to a FFL dealer in your home state. Home state FFL dealer will run background check and deliver firearm to you.
    oldogy

This proceedure will prevent BGs from transporting firearms interstate..Sarcasm off.
    Government is out of control
    "If gun laws in fact worked, the sponsors of this type of legislation should have no difficulty drawing upon long lists of examples of crime rates reduced by such legislation. That they cannot do so after a century and a half of trying -- " Sen Orrin G. Hatch

VIP Member
    Quote Originally Posted by oldogy View Post
    Unless there are military exceptions you'll have to have it shipped to a FFL dealer in your home state. Home state FFL dealer will run background check and deliver firearm to you.
    oldogy

This proceedure will prevent BGs from transporting firearms interstate..Sarcasm off.