Ruger 10/22 vs. Remington 597

This is a discussion on Ruger 10/22 vs. Remington 597 within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Ruger 10/22 vs. Remington 597 Can anybody give a comparison between these two .22 LR rifles? I have been asked for my “educated” opinion but, ...

Thread: Ruger 10/22 vs. Remington 597

Can anybody give a comparison between these two .22 LR rifles? I have been asked for my “educated” opinion but, while I have a 10/22, I have no experience or exposure to the 597. I was hoping that somebody here could enlighten me.

The interest would be in plinking and small game hunting.

Focus would be on reliability and accuracy. After market modifications and accessories are not important. The person that is considering it will be leaving it stock with just the possible addition of a scope. It would be used by both child and adult.

Thanks

2. Remove Ads

Ruger 10/22 ...and never look back....

there is no comparison; the 10/22 rules the .22 rifle market just as the AR-15 rules the assault rifle market and the 1911 pistols rule the handgun market......

Buy the 10/22 and, as the previous poster stated, "don't look back".....
    "Guard with jealous attention the public liberty. Suspect everyone who approaches that jewel. Unfortunately, nothing will preserve it but downright force. Whenever you give up that force, you are inevitably ruined". - Patrick Henry

Senior Member Array mr surveyor's Avatar
    I know I'm in a minority, but I wasn't impressed with either 10/22 I had. They were as unimpressive to me as the Mini-14 I had for a short time and was fortunate enough to get my original investment back from. I'm considering a stainless Marlin Model 60 with the graphite stock. I had the Marlin back in the 1960's and traded it for something (?) when I was 16 or 17. I personally think tube feed is more reliable than the 10/22 rotary magazine.

just my opinion.

surv

Quote Originally Posted by edr9x23super View Post