Rifle Guilt (Rem 7600)

Rifle Guilt (Rem 7600)

This is a discussion on Rifle Guilt (Rem 7600) within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Here is where I must first admit I'm new to hunting. I should have been hunting the last 10+ years (maybe 20+). I forgive myself ...

Rifle Guilt (Rem 7600)

Here is where I must first admit I'm new to hunting. I should have been hunting the last 10+ years (maybe 20+). I forgive myself most of it, as it is my loss, but now my mother and father are getting to old to hunt as my interest increases. I feel bad. I have a very good relationship with my parents, but for whatever reason, I never made the time to hunt.

Now I'm hunting (turkey / deer ... shotgun / rifle). My 75 year old father passes on his 12 guage Winchester Model 12 shotgun and bolt-action Winchester Model 70 30.06 to me. Nice gift considering I have two older brothers. One is a lefty and the other already has several rifles. Still, an honor, that they are passed on to me.

I already own a Remington 740 Woodmaster (a gift from my parents 10 years ago). Now I keep looking at the Remington Model 7600 (even a 44 Mag lever carbine). Just interesting to me. But every time I look at it, I feel guilty. I'm loyald to my father's model 12.

Anyone else get this guilty feeling or have loyalty to a firearm because of the previous owner?
    NRA Member
    S&W 642 (no-lock) with .38 Spl +P 135 GR Gold GDHP
    Glock G31 & G33 with .357 Sig 125 GR. SXT Winchester Ranger