How long can you leave a gun loaded for?

This is a discussion on How long can you leave a gun loaded for? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Say I wanted to keep my Remington 870 loaded and ready to go should something happen. How long can I keep it loaded before I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How long can you leave a gun loaded for?

How long can you leave a gun loaded for?

Say I wanted to keep my Remington 870 loaded and ready to go should something happen. How long can I keep it loaded before I risk damaging the spring in the magazine? Anything I should know?
    Do whatever floats your boat, but don't dare to try and sink mine.

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array jumpwing's Avatar
    I'm not a shotgun expert, but I know the time can be measured in months.
    "The flock sleep peaceably in their pasture at night because Sheepdogs stand ready to do violence on their behalf."
    cafepress.com/bgstudios

I've used shells that were 20 years old and worked fine when I used them. They had been stored in a dry place.
    Never argue with idiots - they'll drag you down to their level then beat you with experience.

Shotguns are different than rifles and pistols. There has been a change in ammunition quality, over the past 6 or so years.

Case swelling was first noted, IIRC, with S&B. Basically, left in the mag tube, the plastic walls spread under the spring pressure, and after being stored for a few months, the gun was turned into a one-shot wonder, that required disassembly to get up again. I believe Remington is still a good buy; Winchester- don't quote me here- I believe has a couple of notes out there with the same problem as the S&B. This can be traced to transferring production overseas, and not maintaining spec. Thinner shell walls=swelling.

All that said, I keep one in the chamber, 2 in the tube and 6 in the saddle; admin unload & inspect monthly. Seems the most reasonable compromise to me.