I Need to Vent About an Incident at Work Today

This is a discussion on I Need to Vent About an Incident at Work Today within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am not sure if this is the right place for this and hopefully the mods will help me on that if I put it ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: I Need to Vent About an Incident at Work Today

I Need to Vent About an Incident at Work Today

I am not sure if this is the right place for this and hopefully the mods will help me on that if I put it under the wrong heading.

I am a health care administrator at a hospital in Tennessee. No firearms allowed in hospitals in TN in case you are wondering.

This is what happened today:

We had an incident in the Emergency Department this morning. A 28 year old black male had beaten up and raped his girlfriend last night and they both came into the ED. He had cuts on his hands from having hit her. We are obligated to call the police to report an assault. When the police showed up he freaked and attacked the police officers and some of the staff. The police sent a pregnant female and an older male officer. The pregnant female refused to engage in the fight and the older male officer was getting his tail kicked. One of the male staff jumped in and assisted, but they were both losing. The punk jumped to his feet and reached in his pocket. The female officer pulled her weapon and the punk stopped fighting while the other officer cuffed him. He was then placed back into a room. The staff in the ED then notified me and the hospital security staff went to administration to inform them of the incident. I immediately dropped what I was doing and went to the department. The Chief Nursing Officer was already there and getting the report from my staff as they were informing the police lieutenant about what had occurred.