Gun insurance

Gun insurance

This is a discussion on Gun insurance within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Does anyone know where I can get a decent priced gun insurance policy that will cover ALL my firearms and ammo in the event of ...

Thread: Gun insurance

Distinguished Member Array Pro2A's Avatar

Gun insurance

Does anyone know where I can get a decent priced gun insurance policy that will cover ALL my firearms and ammo in the event of theft, fire, flood etc? Our renters insurance only covers up to $1,500 dollars in firearm replacement. Needless to say I would be SOL if something happened to them.

I have upwards of $8-10 grand worth of guns, ammo and accessories. My gun safe is 'ok', but I don't know how long it would withstand a major fire or flood. Anyone know any companies or policies that I could get that would cover ALL of my stuff?

Thanks!

Well, I'm no expert, but the wife and I got something called an "Umbrella Policy" that seems to cover just about everything. Check into it. Wasn't a big hunk of dough, either.

Umbrella may no cover everything. At least some insurance companies require specific rider to cover guns above their standard minimum ($1500 or $2000). Worth checking out.
    Last edited by mouse07410; August 31st, 2009 at 08:23 PM. Reason: clarification

Distinguished Member Array Rugergirl's Avatar
    As far as State Farm goes, my homeowners policy covers up to $5000.00 per occurance, an additional rider for $12,000.00 costs $115.00 per year.
    If you are an NRA member you have additional coverage as part of your membership as well.
    Disclaimer: The posts made by this member are only the members opinion, not a reflection on anyone else, nor the group, and should not be cause for anyone to get their undergarments wedged in an uncomfortable position.

Distinguished Member Array Pro2A's Avatar