Break in period for a new pistol.

This is a discussion on Break in period for a new pistol. within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; My first pistol way back when was a stainless Colt .45 Officers ACP. I took it to the range and had serious problems getting the ...

View Poll Results: Do you think the break in for a New Pistol is valid or not?

Voters
243. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I break in all my handguns.

69 28.40%
  • No, I think the firearm should function outa the box period.

57 23.46%
  • Irrelevant, I always fire several hundred rounds through any new firearm.

110 45.27%
  • Other

7 2.88%
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Break in period for a new pistol.

Break in period for a new pistol.

My first pistol way back when was a stainless Colt .45 Officers ACP. I took it to the range and had serious problems getting the pistol to function. Being a newb, I had no idea why this could be happening. I stepped out into the sales area and ask one of the guys workin the sales counter, and he said I needed to break it in before it would work like it should. Needless to say 3 to 4 hundred rounds later, it was running like it was supposed to. If I hadn't ask the guy and just left the range I would've gone home thinkin I had made a very expensive mistake.

My question is. How many are okay with the fact that some manufactures suggest their firearms should be broken in before you should use them as CC weapons?
    "He that hath no sword, let him sell his garment, and buy one." Luke 22:36

"If a law is unjust, a man is not only right to disobey it, he is obligated to do so." Thomas Jefferson

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Rugergirl's Avatar
    With a botton feeder, yes I say definately break them in. With a revovler not so much. My Kimber had some issues in the first 500 rounds, after that never a hiccup. My revolvers have been ready to go, from day one, right out of the box.