A restricted location, restored.

This is a discussion on A restricted location, restored. within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am a pilot, itís my job. You can carry more places on an airport than you may think. In Tennessee, where Iím from, you ...

Thread: A restricted location, restored.

A restricted location, restored.

I am a pilot, itís my job.

You can carry more places on an airport than you may think. In Tennessee, where Iím from, you can carry anywhere outside the TSA security inspection stations on your way to board an airline flight. Except for Nashville, which has posted (mostly) against lawful carry in the terminal and also on the gates into the general aviation area.

I work as a professional pilot on a small jet and some other, smaller airplanes. This year I also became a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit holder, or HCP as they call it here, and I have jumped in with both feet into the carry lifestyle. I carry EVERYWHERE I legally can, even at home sitting in front of the television, and at church.

I guess you can imagine I get around.

I study the laws of the states I visit closely, and then state-specific forums to have a better idea of what to expect. This week I went to Wichita, Kansas. Upon arriving I was dismayed to see a great many businesses correctly posted restricting legal carry of a firearm. Many more than I see at home. This included Signature Flight Support where we (I and the guy flying with me) decided to leave the airplane for a few days.

When I got back to Signature today I legally drove armed onto their ramp to load the airplane with my baggage, then disarmed so I could go inside. This bothered me and I decided to confront so I met with the general manager.

You can imagine what went through my head on how I thought it would go. I went to the competition to compare fees and to see if they were posted to gain, you know, ammunition. Sorry, no pun intended.