Ever have a safe in a house fire?

This is a discussion on Ever have a safe in a house fire? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Has anyone here had the bad luck of having a house fire with guns in a safe? Was it fire rated? Was water damage an ...

Thread: Ever have a safe in a house fire?

Has anyone here had the bad luck of having a house fire with guns in a safe? Was it fire rated? Was water damage an issue? How long till you could get access to it?
    I'm not a lawyer or a LEO, just a pantload with a computer.

Administrator
    I have not, but have had customers who have. The worst story was water and heat equals steam. Wood doesn't do well in a steamer.

I've also had a customer who's guns were untouched after a fire in his basement where is safe was. Different brands and construction techniques makes a big difference, as does the type of fire.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Quote Originally Posted by SIXTO View Post
    I have not, but have had customers who have. The worst story was water and heat equals steam. Wood doesn't do well in a steamer.

I've also had a customer who's guns were untouched after a fire in his basement where is safe was. Different brands and construction techniques makes a big difference, as does the type of fire.

That is interesting. Would you be able to name any brands or models of gun safes that stand above the others in terms of protecting guns during some disaster?

Administrator
    Yeah. I wouldn't buy a safe with a wrapped door, solid panel only. I wouldn't buy one with exterior hinges. I would insist on lock pins on all four sides of the door and I want one that is guaranteed water tight. I want glass lockers and a UL listing.

Brands names...most are junk. But I'm not going to get sucked into another argument with people justifying there purchases. Shop wisely, you'll find the best rather easily.
    "Just blame Sixto"

VIP Member
    Quote Originally Posted by ICTsnub View Post