First 100 rounds with my glock

This is a discussion on First 100 rounds with my glock within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Just put the first 100 rounds through my new Glock 30...in 45 ACP. I have very little handgun shooting experience. How accurate were you when ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First 100 rounds with my glock

Just put the first 100 rounds through my new Glock 30...in 45 ACP. I have very little handgun shooting experience. How accurate were you when you first started? I was standing at 8 paces, and could hit an 8" pie plate, but i was all over that pie plate size target. I had no consistancy. It seems easier to shoot than my snubbie 38 special...but just wondering where i may be going wrong. Many of the shots seemed to be too low... and often to the left. Bunker

You may want to look at this:
    1911Forum
    Low and left is not an uncommon mistake. Could be jerking, improper trigger control, etc. Concentrate on the front sight and get a steady squeeze of the trigger. Don't anticipate the shot and try to compensate for the recoil. Above all, practice, practice, practice. And of course have fun.

Yeah, I was low and to the left too. I noticed that when I pulled the trigger, sometime I would point the gun down at the same time. Try (first empty the mag and the chamber!!!!) aiming at a target and slowly pull the trigger, you may find yourself dipping down a bit.

As far as going to the left, that was from my man-handling the trigger and putting too much finger on it and jerking it.

Maybe this could offer some help... Error chart shooting image by GaryBF42 on Photobucket
    The last Blood Moon Tetrad for this millennium starts in April 2014 and ends in September 2015...according to NASA.

Certified Glock Armorer
    NRA Life Member[/B]

Hmm, that's a neat "pie chart".. Thanks..
    --I'M PROUD TO HAVE THE ABILITY TO BEAR ARMS--