NRA Marksmanship Self-driven Training - Do you do it?

This is a discussion on NRA Marksmanship Self-driven Training - Do you do it? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hey there wasn't sure where this should be posted so I defaulted to "general". I'm a rank beginner. Have had my First Steps Pistol course ...

View Poll Results: NRA Marksmanship Training:

Voters
33. You may not vote on this poll
  • I train using the NRA Marksmanship Training program guidelines

1 3.03%
  • Occasionally I will train using the NRA Marksmanship program

1 3.03%
  • I know about but do not use the NRA Marksmanship Training program

7 21.21%
  • I never heard about the NRA Marksmanship Training program

24 72.73%

Thread: NRA Marksmanship Self-driven Training - Do you do it?

Hey there wasn't sure where this should be posted so I defaulted to "general".

I'm a rank beginner. Have had my First Steps Pistol course from an NRA instructor and received my certificate of completeion, a basic pistol rocker (patch/badge), along with a book discussing the NRA Marksmanship qualification levels Pro-Marksman, Marksman, Marksman First Class, Sharpshooter, Expert, and then the one regulated level, Distinguished Expert.

Folks can self-train and, when they decide they've reached the next level, simply graduate themselves by contacting the NRA and ordering the next level certificate, medal, patch/rocker, and associated information.

How many folks follow this program? If you do, do you find following it to be useful to you? Do you feel like your progression in ability was facilitated by your participation in the program?

Just wanted to see what y'all think.

M-
    People who like this sort of thing will find this the sort of thing they like.
    - Abraham Lincoln

A fanatic is one who can't change his mind and won't change the subject.
    - Winston Churchill

Distinguished Member Array Rugergirl's Avatar