Renting house at college, what do I do?

This is a discussion on Renting house at college, what do I do? within the Home (And Away From Home) Defense Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am finally getting out of my schools down right expensive housing options and moving off campus. I am renting a house with a few ...

Thread: Renting house at college, what do I do?

Renting house at college, what do I do?

I am finally getting out of my schools down right expensive housing options and moving off campus. I am renting a house with a few buddies and being in Flint MI http://www.morganquitno.com/cit07pop.htm#100-499 the city of flowing blood and burning houses, I am concerned with the crazies around here and how I can defend myself and my housemates in case of a home invasion.

I am a NYS resident and not old enough to apply for a cpl so a pistol is out of the question and I am going to purchase a long gun and I am renting the house so I can't install any alarm system not to mention the lack of $$$

So what can I do for some type of deterrent to keep myself and my property safe from those who wish it harm?

What budget firearm should I look into that I can have on hand for defense?

2. Remove Ads

NEF H&R pardner pump 18.5" 5+1 shotgun. $200 from dicks sporting goods and a few boxes of 00 buck. end thread

And some way to lock it up when you are not home. Don't make it easy if you get burglarized.

VIP Member
    I wouldn't bother to try to improve the appearance of the house either.

When I was in school, I rented (alone) a trailer in a bad part of town. The trailer looked worse than a dumpster; mud all over it, it wasn't level'ed, and the front porch had fallen off (the first step was a doozy).

I left the outside like it was, fixed up the inside, taped garbage bags over the windows, and never spoke to my neighors. In three years, I was probably the only trailer in that park that didn't get robbed.

VIP Member