Defensive Carry banner

Locking Gas Caps

8K views 41 replies 28 participants last post by  badger54 
#1 ·
With gasoline heading north without an end in sight, I bought a locking gas cap for the '04 Suburban. The NAPA fella's comment, after I told him what I needed, was that they've sold a lot of caps to folks that just suffered thefts. 30 gallons gone would really send me off the deep end. :ticking:

Just a random thought for ya'll. :35:

#3 ·
Do you have any idea how easy it is to get a 'locking' gas cap off?

Last year we had a string of thefts where people were punching holes in the bottom of people's tanks and draining it out that way. If they want it, they'll get it.

#41 ·
^^^Umm^^^^^Yeah^^^^^^^^

In addition to that, around{Metro Detroit} here they also STEAL the WHOLE gas tank. Good luck getting home, or to work.

#6 ·
I've been using locking gas caps for 10+ years. Once in a while the aftermarket gas caps will throw a code after drastic temperature changes. You need to get 'em tight when you lock. Locking gas caps won't always deter fuel theft......my parents live in Wichita and thieves have been known to drill and drain the gas tanks on fleet vehicles there. Locking gas cap will deter many. Good investment to my thinking. Good prices at local O'Reilly's auto parts stores. Good move!

#7 ·
I keep my Suburban over 1/2 full at all times to the extent possible. I live in the sticks, so I try not to run low. Plus with 10 cents raises daily/weekly I'm speculating on oil. :rolleyes:

#8 ·
I had fuel siphoned from my truck in the middle of downtown Denver several years ago. Been locking up the tank ever since.

I need a combo cap for my '08 Ram. I had a great one for my Silverado that i could put some cash and a spare key inside of but I can't find a combination cap for my current truck that won't set off my check engine light.

#9 ·
I see no advantage to the locking gas cap as they CAN be easily removed.OMO

#10 ·