Guns and Toddlers

Guns and Toddlers

This is a discussion on Guns and Toddlers within the Home (And Away From Home) Defense Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi DC I am new to DC.com, but have a question about gun safes. I have ordered (to try out) the GunVault Mini (Biometric) to ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Guns and Toddlers

Guns and Toddlers

Hi DC

I am new to DC.com, but have a question about gun safes. I have ordered (to try out) the GunVault Mini (Biometric) to try and see how I like it. On Amazon.com it literally has 10 5-Star reviews & 10 1-Star reviews.... so mixed in their reviews it makes it difficult to judge by those reviews.

Now a question....

Pt. 1: What (if any) security precautions do you have in place to keep a firearm completely safe from todlers or anything for that matter, while having it quickly accessible?

Pt. 2: Do you keep it unloaded or loaded (if loaded: 1 in the chamber or not)

Thanks for reading,

Kelvin

Welcome to the forum!

If I'm awake my loaded (one in the chamber with a full magazine) EDC is in my holster on my hip. The holster covers the trigger so the gun is safe. I routinely wrestle 3 nephews in this mode of carry without an issue yet. When I undress for the day my pistol goes into a Homak lock box which sits on my nightstand. 5 keystrokes and I'm in the box. My wife and teenage daughter have both been shooting and know not to mess with the guns but I take the precautions anyway.

Pistol is loaded unless I'm cleaning it.
    NRA Life Member

With great power comes great responsibility.-Stan Lee

When my grandkids are around I lock up anything that is not on my body. When my kids were young I put an outside type door lock on my bedroom door and kept it locked. Needed a key to get in.
    Good people do not need laws to tell them to act responsibly, while bad people will find a way around laws. Plato

Welcome!