Defensive Carry banner

OC vs brandishing at your door

4K views 39 replies 27 participants last post by  dukalmighty 
#1 ·
Sorry if this has been answered, a search for open carry and brandishing turned up a lot of results.

Lets say you have a salesman come to your door and you are open carrying, how does that differ from brandishing? What if you rest your hand on it while talking? (Telling to leave)

Please be gentle, I am new to all of this.
Thanks

#5 ·
Have to agree with the other posts. Nothing wrong with open carrying in your own home (at least in my state) but I teach don't even touch your gun unless your life or your loved ones life is in grave danger. I know a Sheriff who would get so mad if his deputies put their hands on their guns in non threatening situations.

#6 ·
Let's say you have a salesman come to your door...
Don't open the door!

The definition of brandishing varies by state.
True. Many states, like mine, don't have the word "brandish" in the statutes, but in those states that do, most likely a holstered gun is not included in the definition. Grabbing your gun, even a holstered gun, is felonious menacing in my state, and probably a similar offense in others.

#7 ·
If you are in your own home and open carry out of habit then I don't see how there is anything wrong with that. Putting your hand on the gun and insisting the salesman leave does not seem at all appropriate, actually it seems like a threat to a man who is just doing his job and the only thing he has done to you is possibly annoy you. Not a good idea.

Goose

Reactions: RichB70
#8 ·