When do you touch the trigger?

This is a discussion on When do you touch the trigger? within the Home (And Away From Home) Defense Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; So I got my new holster a few days ago and I started practicing drawing from it. (Whitehat Maxtuck. Love it!) Now, from what I've ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree28Likes

Thread: When do you touch the trigger?

When do you touch the trigger?

So I got my new holster a few days ago and I started practicing drawing from it. (Whitehat Maxtuck. Love it!)

Now, from what I've been told (remember I'm still somewhat new to the defensive carry part of the gun world), drawing is a three step process: (1) grip on the weapon; (2) draw to low-ready; (3) extend hands straight to firing position. Of course, that's a best case scenario, and that brings up my question.

So far, I've found myself fingering the trigger at low-ready, and then pulling it to the breaking point as I extend my arms. But is that right? If someone is rushing me, I might have to literally take a hip shot. Would it be better to finger the trigger as soon as it clears the holster? I admit that I'm a little worried about muscle memory and safety in that I'd be afraid I'd do it every time, even when I'm drawing to disarm at night, or to clean the weapon, etc.

So, when do you make contact with the trigger in your progression? And when do you pull to the breaking point?

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array AZJD1968's Avatar
    I don't touch the trigger until I make the decision to shoot. That can come at any time I decide. Just because I draw doesn't mean that my finger goes on the trigger.
    Stop whining and go do something that makes a difference!
    If you think that I may be talking to you, then I am.

I've found myself fingering the trigger at low-ready...