Flashlight makes you a target

This is a discussion on Flashlight makes you a target within the Home (And Away From Home) Defense Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have a hard time with the flashlight deal. I understand you need to identify the threat but if I was a bad guy ,hiding ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree86Likes

Thread: Flashlight makes you a target

I have a hard time with the flashlight deal. I understand you need to identify the threat but if I was a bad guy ,hiding in the dark, and I am desperate to make my get away, the first thing I would do is shoot at the light coming towards me. I am a total rookie so I certainly am not arguing the reason , just trying to understand the approach so I dont make that mistake.

Don't leave it on continuously.

Brief flash to illuminate/identify your target, and then move.
    smoker62, patri0t, Badey and 11 others like this.
    Fortes Fortuna Juvat

Former, USMC 0311, OIF/OEF vet
    NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun/Reloading Instructor, RSO, Ohio CHL Instructor

Well now that makes sense. I feel kind of stupid. I watched some youtube vids and see the guys walking around with the light on steady and just thought it sets you up as a bulls eye if Im hiding in your basement.
    gatorbait51 and glockcoma like this.

There are alot of hand held flashlights out now with like 900,000,000,000 Lumens, designed to blind the bad guy when ya shine it at them. One of those might be a viable option.

I may have exaggerated the exact number of Lumens, but there are some very high Lumen lights out there.

Master of the Tactical Back Flip
    Internet Gun Expert

It is generally a good idea to make sure you don't know someone, before you smoke 'em.
    Retired State Trooper (40 long years) 8 years State Range Instructor - BS Degree- Justice, MS Degree- Criminology
    All forms of Gun Control are Unconstitutional / Illegal and beyond the scope of the US. Supreme Court.