Frangible Ammo

This is a discussion on Frangible Ammo within the Home (And Away From Home) Defense Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; So I'm new to a lot of things surrounding self/home defense and guns in general, and I'm curious about frangible ammunition. I've seen ads for ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Frangible Ammo

Frangible Ammo

So I'm new to a lot of things surrounding self/home defense and guns in general, and I'm curious about frangible ammunition. I've seen ads for several different types advertised for use in the home to prevent over-penetration which could possibly lead to injury of a family member or guest in a room beyond the invader. Has anyone had any experience with this ammo? Any particular preferred brand or type? And are there any cons to this that I haven't thought of? I would be planning on reloading with this after I get home, as the need to penetrate cover might arise in a situation outside my home, but to me the risk of needing to do the same in my own home is outweighed by the risk of over penetration. Thoughts?

2. Remove Ads

Better than throwing handful of rocks I guess. But id rather use a solid point hot 22 lr than a frangible bullet. The con is they probably wont penetrate the BG enough to get the job done.

You dont say what cal your carrying. If its not 357 mag or maybe 40 cal, if you use regular powered hollow points and hit the bg you likely arent going to go thru him and the walls.

Sort of a rock and hard place. If something wont make it thru two sheets of drywall or paneling it wont be much good against a determined human either.
    " It is sad governments are chief'ed by the double tongues." quote Ten Bears Movie Outlaw Josie Wales

Sorry, at the moment I'm using a Walther PK380 with ZombieMax Hornady hollow points.

MJK